Huntor Prey – The Motion Sound Picture EP Review



Ladies and gentlemen, welcome to the most official album review for this album…any review I do will be the most official review for that album. Anyway, here we do not judge names, bank statements, or tmz appearances. We judge music. Dig that.


Songs are judged on a 0-5 basis (0 being cheeks, 5 being classic), and the judgement is based on the following: lyrics, production, and the cohesiveness of the two. Whether or not the song is good for what it was intended to do, and its according entertainment value.  Now, I am going to be very specific with what these numeric values mean in terms of what I am giving them. Here is the scale:


0-1.5 – Amongst the most terrible songs i’ve ever heard


2 – Bad song


2.5 – average song- not good/not awful


3 – pretty good, not mind blowing but good


3.5 – I could ride out to this


4 – Has great replay value


4.5 – Song/Album of the year candidate


5 – Classic hip-hop record


Albums in totality are judged by the same, but including flow of the album and consistency of attributes throughout the album. With that being said…

So..lets go through all of the things that we already know about the god named Huntor:

-Huntor got dreads

-Huntor can spit it

-Huntor did poetry and he can spit it

-Huntor reps Ohio (Nati and Toledo)

-Huntor has an EP dropping called The Motion Sound Picture EP on June 25

Now with all that being said, this EP will probably tell us a lot more about Huntor than the bullet statements above. You see, if Huntor was a typical emcee, those things would be all that we learn about Huntor on this EP…but since he isn’t…let’s see what Huntor shows us on this here journey called The Motion Sound Picture EP…

1. Cadence – lol lol this intro is crazy… this nigga came prepared. Yuck…This beat…yuck.  “Im between my dreams and what’s real out for better things with words you can borrow. Men make moves you cant move men, and boys will make moves that destroy them…” yeesh. 4.5/5

2. Cornerstore – Another beat thats jane flames. Great concept…reminds me of some Masta Ace – A Long Hot Summer shit…Nice feel good July day in the hood shit… Today Was A Good Day from the non gangsta perspective.. the other cat sound like Nashawn and shit…he spit it too though. 4/5

3. Reverse Run It Back – Ok, we came down to earth a little bit production wise. We get that lyrical blessing though. That second verse…phew. You can never Thomas Crowne me..damn. 3.5/5

4. Wanna Be – You know…first time I saw Huntor perform..nigga did this long ass in depth making niggas in the crowd man uncomfortable poem about an experience with a woman…so this right here making me laugh nostalgically…This is a perfect “song for the bitches” as Too Short fans would put it, “Some’n fo da ladies” as Pac fans would put it and “regular/standard/default song” as Drake fans would put it. I like it. 4/5

5. Eventually – I touched bases in depth on this joint in the preview article…The joint actually sounds much better in the context of the album though. I still love that MOP shit in the hook. 4/5

6. WKRP – This beat is crazy, and its a nice change up from ‘Eventually’. The cat on the second verse is absolutely perfect for this track. He killed this shit.. I was a fan of Piakhan back when he was on the Reflection Eternal album and the Brown Sugar soundtrack. I spent an entire afternoon looking for the joint that he was on one day (And No One Knows Her Name) ..Anywho, this shit banged. It got better as the song went on, and everybody did their thing. 4/5

7. This Way – I also spoke on this joint in fair depth in the preview. Again, the EP is very well sequenced, so this joint is perfect in the context of the EP. Man, this cat is doing it right now. 4/5

8. Today – WHEW! Fuck…me…man. OMG. Where do I start. The beat…That Jefferson Airplane sample (My crates are deep GOT DAMN MAN… That first verse (Illpoetic) …beautiful. Second verse (Huntor) , perfect.. “So i’m screaming ‘Fuck The World!’ yo, that’s 95, ‘Yo! I think the world’s gonna end!’ nope that’s 99…” haha I love it. “I really really like it, see, you know how I know? I’m getting a boner…heh? Swanson Johnson’s getting hard” -Thomas Dunwitty  5/5

9. Train of Thought – The ‘Be Kind, Rewind’ sample is real nice..the beat is crazy. Oh my…this right here sounds like he got comfortable on the beat and just went nuts. I wanted to type some quotes from this joint, but as I was typing some lyrics, i’d here another line that was even better. That happened about four times…so yeah… 4.5/5

10. Trailer (bonus) – This is a collection of snippets of other songs which sound like they may be another cohesive project. The snippets sell me. The concept of the trailer to go along with the consistent concept of this being a movie to be heard….this shit is crazy fam. Crazy I tell ya.

Conclusion:  Everybody who knows me, or read my reviews know that I don’t give niggas passes because I like their past work, or we friends or nothing like that. Forget judging this on a local-rappers-I-know scale…This may be the best work I’ve heard so far this year from anyone. It started off strong aesthetically and conceptually, and got even better as the album went on. That WKRP, This Way, Today, Train of Thought sequence is magnificent, and I will never…ever.. stop playing ‘Today’…Huntor, tell Ill I deserve a shout out for knowing that Jefferson Airplane sample too. lol…Congratulations, man. You should have made Ohio proud with this one.  4.5/5

-Sonny Rockwell aka Thelonious Funk