Conya Doss – Pocket Full of Purpose: The review



Ladies and gentlemen, welcome to the most official review of this album… any review I do will be the most official review for that album. Anyway, here we do not judge names, bank statements, or TMZ appearances. We judge music. Dig that.

Songs are judged on a 0-5 basis (0 being cheeks, 5 being classic), and the judgement is based on the following: lyrics, production, and the cohesiveness of the two. Whether or not the song is good for what it was intended to do, and its according entertainment value.  Now, I am going to be very specific with what these numeric values mean in terms of what I am giving them. Here is the scale:


0-1.5 – Amongst the most terrible songs i’ve ever heard

2 – Bad song

2.5 – average song- not good/not awful

3 – pretty good, not mind blowing but good

3.5 – I could ride out to this

4 – Has great replay value

4.5 – Song/Album of the year candidate

5 – Classic hip-hop/soul record


Albums in totality are judged by the same, but including flow of the album and consistency of attributes throughout the album. With that being said


Most artist are on the verge of falling off by their sixth album. Especially their sixth album in ten years. There is a grand burn out factor to consider…usually. Conya Doss out of Cleveland, Ohio attempts to not be a casualty of this notion with her sixth album, Pocket Full of Purpose.  Conya is a staple in the soul music scene, and deserves the recognition as that.  My first two listens of this album were in my offices while doing reports, and were admittingly vague.  However, I argue that vague listening is necessary as is comprehensive listening to get a complete understanding of what you are musically dealing with.  So after six total listens to Pocket Full of Purpose, I am in a place where I can effectively reach out to Conya Doss fans, and those who stumble upon this review to share some grand insight into the music.

1. Reaching For The Stars – Nice opening song. Her lyrics on this joint are seductive as well as uplifting and progressive. Nice upbeat tempo. I can’t front on it at all.  4/5

2. I Want It All – More of the traditional R&B joints on the album in terms of content and sound. I personally like songs by women that denounce the relationship and social dominance that many men hold onto women with. 3.5/5

3.Paradise- I’m a fan of this one. I love the feel of the music… on some walking in the park telling jokes and swinging and other shit that adults don’t do on a regular basis. This is also a cohesive joint…it flows well. It just works. 4/5

4. What About You and Me feat. Chris McNeal – Another traditional but smooth joint. This one is a duet that works out very well. Chris McNeal adds a very precise male perspective that takes the song to another level. One of the better duets that I’ve heard in a while. 4/5

5. Piano Interlude – Ok, this interlude is pretty bad. It’s a good idea, but it sounds pretty corny..especially the last cat to leave a message. The piano is nice though. 3/5

6. Don’t Change – This is the album’s single. I’m in love with this production. It really doesnt matter whats said at this point…im sold on the track. With that said, she compliments the production with a clever and inspiring sentiment to a man. These words, every man would love to hear from a woman, but rarely do. I feel good just hearing them spoken generally in the song. Great single choice. 4/5

7. Just Me – Conya has a knack for eloquently addressing human elements in her lyrics- this song is a perfect example of this quality. One of the slower tracks on the album in terms of entertainment value. Still knocks though. I don’t thing Conya is capable of making an outright bad record.  3.5/5

8. Letter – Ok, when the joint first came on I could have sworn I heard it earlier in the album.  There is a redundant element in the lyrical content to this song that keeps me from enjoying it. 2.5/5

9. Here for You – This song is redundant as well, musically…but its a good song so I can’t front on it. 3/5

10.  Jamie (Come Back) – This is a funky joint. I like the musical direction and the story. The concept of the song is beautiful, and is one that is lost in the sentiment of blowing up is everything amongst the current field of artists. This needs to be heard. 3.5/5

11. Lost – I love this one. Has a very improve/jam session feel to it. Really sets the tone for the back half of the album. 4/5

12. Where Do We Go From Here? – This song is a well written articulation of a common issue in relationships that are ending. While I am not a big fan of this song aesthetically, I do like the direction that is taken. 3/5

13.  Ill Say Yes – Perfectly placed as the last song on the album.  The slow tempo seems to balance the album musically and create a more cohesive element as an ending.  It is musically and lyrically pleasing. Saving the best for last, I call it… 4/5

Conclusion: The album starts off strong, grows a little snooze, and then picks up at the end. Overall, there are many good to very good songs on this album. Pocket Full is also cohesive, and edgy in terms of the complete sound.  After listening to the album, the album title is very appropriate and well placed. This album reminds me of Glenn Lewis’ World Outside My Window with a feminine twist.  That concept of burning out that I mentioned earlier…don’t worry about it. Conya good.


-Sonny Rockwell